Epic Thanksgiving Giveaway: MSI GeForce RTX 3080 GAMING X TRIO!
TRENDING NOW: Here's our Top 10 best handpicked Amazon Black Friday tech deals!

Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review

Corsair is going big and in a big way. Join us as we review and look closely at the 4TB Corsair Force MP510 TLC NVMe M.2 SSD.

@JonCoulterSSD
Published Tue, Oct 6 2020 8:40 AM CDT   |   Updated Tue, Nov 3 2020 6:54 PM CST
Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Corsair (CSSD-F4000GBMP510)

Introduction & Drive Details

The rarest SSD out there today is a 4TB consumer M.2 NVMe SSD with a TLC flash array. There are only two that we know of, one is by Sabrent, and the other is now by Corsair. Everything high capacity is trending QLC, and it doesn't look like TLC will be around for long, at least not at capacity points above 2TB. With this in mind, we think now is the perfect time to jump on a drive like Corsair's MP510 4TB SSD.

It's not cheap, but nothing 4TB is cheap, not even QLC. However, when you can get a 4TB NVMe TLC SSD for at or around the same price as a 4TB QLC variant, you should do it if you can. In my rig, I run a 4TB TLC SSD, and it is glorious. You think a 2TB NVMe SSD makes life great? Wait until you try a 4TB M.2 NVMe TLC SSD. Again, this may be the last time you can get a 4TB M.2 NVMe TLC SSD.

It's not that QLC is bad. It's that TLC is inherently better, and it's going extinct soon. We just witnessed the extinction of MLC flash in the consumer space with the Samsung 980 Pro going TLC. TLC is next, and therefore we believe you can't go wrong investing in a quality piece of hardware like Corsair's 4TB MP510.

The newest iteration of Corsairs renown Force Series MP510 line of NVMe SSDs is different than the others. It has a flash array composed of 96-Layer BiCS TLC (3-bit) NAND vs. 64L BiCS TLC on the smaller capacities. More density (layers) facilitates higher capacity. Additionally, the 4TB MP510 differs from its older brethren in that it has a newer version of Phison's powerful E12 controller, the E12S. The E12S is an E12 variant with an optimized footprint and nickel coating.

An optimized footprint is a smaller footprint, and nickel coating makes it run cooler. Both nice improvements. A smaller footprint is what you need if you want to fit 8-flash chips, DRAM, and an 8-channel controller on a 22mm x 80mm PCB that is about the size of a stick of gum. Impressive.

Now, let's take a closer look at what we believe is the most desirable Corsair SSD ever made.

Drive Details

Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 01 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 46 IMAGES

Incredible endurance and plenty of speed to satisfy the most demanding consumers.

Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 02 | TweakTown.comCorsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 03 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 04 | TweakTown.comCorsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 05 | TweakTown.com

Corsair's MP510 is, in our opinion, a good-looking piece of hardware.

Jon's Test System Specifications

Buy at Amazon

Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe PCIe Gen3 x4 M.2 SSD

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$744.99$744.99$744.99
* Prices last scanned on 11/27/2020 at 10:35 am CST - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

SSD Toolbox

Corsair SSD Toolbox

Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 06 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 07 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 08 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 09 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 10 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 11 | TweakTown.com

Corsair offers a free SSD Toolbox to manage the SSDs they sell. With Corsair's full-featured SSD Toolbox, you can monitor SSD health, clone your system, update firmware, and secure erase.

You can download it here.

Synthetic Benchmarks: CDM & Anvils

CrystalDiskMark

Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 12 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 13 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 14 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 15 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 16 | TweakTown.com

Great performance across the board. Phison's E12S controller can handle massive capacities with ease.

Anvil's Storage Utilities

Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 17 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 18 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 19 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 20 | TweakTown.com

Corsair's 4TB MP510 delivers the best score we've seen from a high-capacity M.2 NVMe SSD with a Gen3 interface. Impressive.

Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 21 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 22 | TweakTown.com

Max random write IOPS results are outstanding. Well above factory specs. Max random read falls a bit short of factory specs because they are given for an empty secondary device.

Synthetic Benchmarks: AS SSD & ATTO

AS SSD

Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 23 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 24 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 25 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 26 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 27 | TweakTown.com

Our focus is read scoring, and Corsair's MP510 delivers in a big way, with the second-best performance we've seen from a high capacity M.2 NVMe SSD. Additionally, whenever an SSD delivers a total score that exceeds 7K it is something to take notice of.

ATTO

Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 28 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 29 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 30 | TweakTown.com

The MP510 almost gives us full speed at 128K transfers but comes up a bit short when serving data to the host. Nevertheless, very impressive.

Real-World Testing: Transfer Rates & Gaming

Transfer Rates

Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 31 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 32 | TweakTown.com

Corsair's MP510 gives us our 600 MB/s minimum plus a little bit more.

Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 33 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 34 | TweakTown.com

The difference between the best Gen3 performance and the MP510 is little more than 100 MB/s and likely unnoticeable to the end-user.

Game Level Loading

Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 35 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 36 | TweakTown.com

We like to see sub-11 seconds here, but as is the case with all Phison powered SSDs, that remains elusive.

Real-World Testing: PCMark 10 Storage Tests

PCMark 10 Storage Test is the most advanced and most accurate real-world consumer storage test ever made. There are four different tests you can choose from; we run two of them.

The Full System Drive Benchmark and the Quick System Drive Benchmark. The Full System Drive Benchmark writes 204GB of data over the duration of the test. The Quick System Drive Benchmark writes 23GB of data over the duration of the test. These tests directly correlate with user experience. Of the two tests, we feel that the Quick System Drive Test most accurately replicates a typical user experience.

PCMark 10 Full System Drive Benchmark

Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 37 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 38 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 39 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 40 | TweakTown.com

As our charts demonstrate, the 4TB MP510 handles heavy workloads with ease, which is something that gives it an advantage over most QLC SSDs. Even if a QLC SSD manages to do a bit better as we see from Intel's 660P, that is offset by the fact that QLC SSDs can quickly wear out if subjected to heavy workloads for a long period of time.

PCMark 10 Quick System Drive Benchmark

Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 41 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 42 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 43 | TweakTown.com
Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 44 | TweakTown.com

Corsair's 4TB MP510 shows us what it is made of by easily digesting what we consider the most important test we run. The 4TB MP510 delivers the fourth-best performance for any high-capacity consumer NVMe SSD we've tested to date. Impressive.

Final Thoughts

Capacious, fast as hell, and unparalleled endurance is what Corsair's 4TB MP510 is all about. We feel this SSD is as good as it gets and that soon you will never again be able to buy such an SSD as a 4TB TLC M.2 NVMe SSD. QLC is taking over the high capacity NVMe SSD market and bringing with it inherently lower performance and lower quality.

There are two issues we see with QLC SSDs. When they start to get filled up, write speeds plummet to the point where even mechanical HDDs can be significantly faster. The other is the most obvious, and that is incredibly low endurance in comparison with TLC SSDs. What QLC does have going for it is capacity.

This is why we love Corsair's 4TB MP510 TLC powered M.2 NVMe SSD. It is one of only two M.2 NVMe SSDs we know of that gives you the best of both worlds. High capacity that won't slow to a crawl when it gets full or close to full, and endurance that is currently close to 10x better than 4-bit (QLC) SSDs.

Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 45 | TweakTown.com

As the above chart clearly shows, Corsair's magnificent 4TB MP510 M.2 NVMe SSD delivers a user experience that is far better than anything QLC, even when QLC is on a Gen4 interface.

Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe M.2 SSD Review 46 | TweakTown.com

A quick recap of our testing reveals several highlights where the 4TB Corsair MP510 really stands out in terms of performance. Anvils testing produced overall results that are the best we've seen from an ultra-high capacity Gen3 SSD. AS SSD testing treated us to the second-best performance we've seen from any Gen3 SSD. Finally, and most importantly, the 4TB MP510 showed off its prowess when performing typical consumer tasks when tested with PCMark 10.

Unrivaled M.2 TLC capacity, blazing-fast performance, and the highest endurance rating we've ever seen have earned Corsair's 4TB MP510 NVMe SSD TweakTown's highest award.

Pros

  • Capacity
  • Endurance
  • User Experience
  • 5-Year Warranty

Cons

  • None
Buy at Amazon

Performance

93%

Quality

98%

Features

99%

Value

90%

Overall

95%

The Bottom Line

Oozing with capacity, quality, and performance, Corsair's 4TB MP510 is about as good as it gets.

TweakTown award
95%

Corsair Force Series MP510 4TB NVMe PCIe Gen3 x4 M.2 SSD

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$744.99$744.99$744.99
* Prices last scanned on 11/27/2020 at 10:35 am CST - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Jon became a computer enthusiast when Windows XP launched. He was into water cooling and benching ATI video cards with modded drivers. Jon has been building computers for others for more than 10 years. Jon became a storage enthusiast the day he first booted an Intel X25-M G1 80GB SSD. Look for Jon to bring consumer SSD reviews into the spotlight.

Newsletter Subscription
We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription
Latest News
View More News
Latest Reviews
View More Reviews
Latest Articles
View More Articles